About Us

MassDOT Leadership

Governor Charlie Baker
Charlie Baker,
A seven-member Board of Directors appointed by the Governor with expertise in transportation, finance and engineering will oversee the organization, while serving as the governing body of both MassDOT and the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA), which is part of MassDOT but retains a separate legal existence. MassDOT is administered by a Secretary of Transportation, appointed by the Governor to serve as Chief Executive Officer.

The organization oversees four new divisions: Highway, Mass Transit, Aeronautics and the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), in addition to an Office of Planning and Programming.

MassDOT Board of Directors

John R. Jenkins John R. Jenkins, a Natick resident, will serve as Chair of the MassDOT Board and was a former Massachusetts Turnpike Authority Board member. He is President of West Insurance Agency, Inc.
Dominic Blue Dominic Blue a resident of Longmeadow, is Vice President and Assistant General Counsel of Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company. He earned his J.D. from Boston College Law School and his M.B.A. from the Carroll School of Management (Boston College). Mr. Blue serves on the board of directors of the Greater Springfield YMCA, where he is also a member of the finance committee.
Joseph C. Bonfiglio Joseph C. Bonfiglio, represents nearly 20,000 construction workers and public service employees in his role as Business Manager for the Massachusetts and Northern New England Laborers’ District Council. He brings to the board a unique perspective and passion for ensuring workers are protected on the job.
Robin Chase Robin Chase is a transportation entrepreneur. She is founder and former CEO of Zipcar, the largest carsharing company in the world; Buzzcar, a carsharing marketplace in France; and GoLoco, an online ridesharing community. Chase is Executive Chairman of Veniam ‘Works, a vehicle mesh communications company. Robin serves as a World Resources Institute Board member. She has also served on the National Advisory Council for Innovation & Entrepreneurship for the US Department of Commerce; the US Department of Transportation Intelligent Transportations System Program Advisory Committee; Massachusetts Governor’s Transportation Transition Working Group; and Boston Mayor’s Wireless Task Force.
Janice Loux Janice Loux, a resident of Williamstown, is the first female president of UNITE HERE! Local 26, representing more than 6,300 hotel and food service workers in metropolitan Boston and was a member of the board of directors of the MBTA for 12 years under five governors.
Professor Andrew Whittle Professor Andrew Whittle, ScD, P.E., a geotechnical engineer, he currently serves as an Edmund K. Turner Professor of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Whittle is a resident of Boxborough.

Stephanie Pollack, Secretary

MassDOT is administered by a Secretary of Transportation, appointed by the Governor to serve as Chief Executive Officer. Secretary Pollack serves as an ex-officio member as prescribed by legislation passed in July 2012.

The organization oversees four new divisions:
Highway, Mass Transit, Aeronautics and the Registry of Motor Vehicles(RMV), in addition to an Office of Planning and Programming.

Mission and Values

Our Mission:

Deliver excellent customer service to people who travel in the Commonwealth, and to provide our nation’s safest and most reliable transportation system in a way that strengthens our economy and quality of life.

We are one transportation organization focused on customer service and safety.

Our Values:

  • Dedication

    We will provide service around the clock and under all circumstances.
  • Respect

    We will treat the public as our valued customer, and treat one another how we would like to be treated.
  • Innovation

    We will improve and integrate transportation services using creative thinking and best available practices and technology, while minimizing disruption to the public.
  • Diversity

    We will promote an inclusive workforce and a culture that serves employees and customers fairly.
  • Honesty

    We will provide the public accurate information that is understandable and accessible.

Registry of Motor Vehicles Division

The Registry of Motor Vehicles Division is responsible for operator licensing and vehicle registrations. Transactions may be processed online (if applicable) or at any of the RMV branch offices across the Commonwealth. The RMV also oversees commercial and non-commercial vehicle inspection stations.

Erin C. Deveney, Registrar

Erin C. Deveney was appointed Interim Registrar of Motor Vehicles on March 16, 2015. Registrar Deveney’s responsibilities include ensuring the emphasis on customer service in the issuance of driver’s licenses, identification cards, vehicle titles and registrations.

Prior to her appointment, she served as Interim Commissioner/Deputy Commissioner for Central Office Operations of the Massachusetts Department of Children and Families, where she implemented a series of organizational reforms designed to improve service delivery by the agency.

Registrar Deveney formerly held positions as Chief of Staff, Deputy Registrar for Policy and Planning and General Counsel at the RMV.

An attorney, Deveney has twenty years of public service management experience as well as experience in legislative and municipal government. She is a graduate of the College of the Holy Cross and Suffolk Law School.