License and ID

Learner's Permit Checklists

You just turned 16 and are ready to obtain your learner's permit. This is what you need to know before planning a trip with your parent or guardian to your local Registry branch:

  • You need to study all of the information in the driver's manual. You may read the manual, in its entirety, online.
  • You need to bring a completed Class D, M, or D/M License and ID Update application to any RMV Full Service Center.
  • If you are under the age of 18, a parent or guardian will need to sign the application.
  • You will be required to pay a $30 written test fee as well as meet the identification requirements.
  • You will also be required to pass a vision test or submit a RMV vision-screening certificate from your medical practitioner
  • Your photo and signature will be captured electronically on the RMV database
  • There is a 25 question (written/computer based) exam testing your knowledge of Massachusetts's motor vehicle laws and safe driving practices. You have 25 minutes to take the test and must answer 18 correctly in order to pass.
  • The test is administered on automated testing stations which are easy to use video screen kiosks.
For more information on preparing for and taking the written test, please refer to the Driver's Manual. If you have a disability and need to request an accommodation, please see the Alternative Exam Options section on the Obtaining a Class D Permit and License page.

Facts about your Permit:

  • Your permit is valid for two (2) years and allows you to practice your driving skills as you prepare for your road test.
  • You must carry your permit whenever you drive until you earn a Junior Operator's License or a full driver's license
  • You must always be accompanied by a licensed operator who occupies the passenger seat next to you. This person must be at least 21 years old and have a valid license with at least 1 year's driving experience
  • If you are under 18, you may not drive between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am unless accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.
  • A class D learner's permit allows you to operate a motor vehicle in another state as long as it does not violate the laws of that state.
  • You may only operate a passenger car.

Gov Delivery MassDOT Twitter MassDOT Flicker MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Instagram MassDOT Blog MassDOT SocialMedia MassDOT Developer Resources
Translation Disabled |  Translation Support
Copyright © 2017 Commonwealth of Massachusetts