Procedures for obtaining a motorcycle license.
There are two ways to obtain your motorcycle license. One is to go through a Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) certified, Massachusetts Rider Education Program (MREP) approved motorcycle safety course. The other is to take the RMV administered road test.
Students who complete and pass an MREP approved motorcycle safety course do not have to take the RMV motorcycle road test and the road test fees are waived.
Once you have completed and passed the MREP approved motorcycle safety course, your Site Coordinator will submit your information to the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). If you have pre-paid all of the required fees and have no outstanding issues the RMV will mail your license to the address on record.
You can Change Your Address online.
The RMV encourages you to prepay the license issuance fee to avoid visiting a branch after course completion. Class M license fees can be paid online using the Pay My Road Test/License Fees transaction.
You can pre-pay the license fee through the RMV automated telephone system:
- Step 1: Call 857-368-8000 (from the 339, 617, 781, or 857 area codes or outside of MA) or 800-858-3926 (from all other area codes in MA)
- Step 2: Say "Road Test"
- Step 3: Say "Pre-Pay"
- Step 4: Say your Permit Number. Do not be concerned when the system says "Scheduled Road Test"
- Step 5: Say your Date of Birth
- Step 6: The total should be $15.00. Pay with credit card
If you have not pre-paid for the motorcycle endorsement or you have outstanding issues, you will be mailed a MREP Certificate of Completion. You will need to visit an RMV Service Center to obtain your motorcycle endorsement. Outstanding issues include:
- Unpaid parking tickets, excise tax, child support or E-ZPass MA violations
- Pending license suspension/revocation
- Suspended or revoked license status
- Expired motorcycle permit
- Junior Operator license requirements not met
- Hold a Mass ID or Liquor ID
Once you have satisfied all outstanding issues, the motorcycle endorsement can be issued.
Items you must present at an RMV Service Center before a motorcycle endorsement can be issued:
- Completed and stamped MREP Certificate of Completion (expires in 90 days)
- Valid motorcycle permit
- $15.00 for a motorcycle endorsement or $50.00 for a motorcycle license only (if you did not pre-pay)
- Current MA driver's license, if applying for a motorcycle endorsement
- Completed Class D/M License Application
- If you are under 18 years of age, you must:
- obtain parent or guardian signature on application
- complete Class D driver's education
- hold motorcycle permit for a minimum of six months
- complete the Massachusetts Rider Education Program (MREP) Basic Rider Course as well as Driver's Education
You must continue to follow the rules of your permit until you receive your motorcycle endorsement which are:
- You may not carry a passenger
- You can drive only during daylight hours (between sunrise and sunset)
- You must wear a DOT standard helmet
- You must wear eyeglasses, goggles or a protective face shield unless the motorcycle has a windshield or screen.
- You may operate your motorcycle with your permit in another state as long as it does not violate that state's laws.
Information regarding MA personal gear requirements
Per the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Driver's Manual:
State law requires motorcyclist and their passengers to wear helmets that meet the current U.S. DOT's Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 218. Labels indicating that a helmet meets this standard must be placed both inside and outside the helmet. DOT standard helmet can prevent or reduce head injury in case of a crash.
Eyeglasses, goggles, or a protective face shield MUST be worn, unless the motorcycle has a wind shield or screen. Ideally, you and your passenger should always wear eye protection.
You should wear long sleeves and full trousers to help maintain body heat and moisture, protect against sunburn, and reduce skin abrasion in case of a crash. Heavy clothing provides more protection if it fits properly. Leather and modern abrasion-resistant synthetic materials provide the best protection. To make yourself more visible to drivers, use retro-reflective tape to brighten darkly colored riding gear. In addition, you should wear full finger leather gloves to protect your hands and better grip the motorcycle hand controls.
To ensure good footing and protection against hot metal or moving parts, you should wear sturdy over the ankle shoes, rather than sneakers and sandals. Boots provide the best protection and offer additional ankle support.
Passengers should wear the same riding gear as you do, and he or she MUST wear a DOT standard helmet and eye protection. Your passenger should sit behind you on the motorcycle and never sit sidesaddle.
Information regarding MA motorcycle equipment requirements
The law requires any motorcycle to have a number of safety equipment items in good working order. Those items include a horn, rearview mirror, fenders, a muffler, and brakes. The law requires one left mirror but two are recommended.
The front of your motorcycle must be fitted with a white, properly aimed headlight. When it is attached to a motorcycle, a sidecar must have a white forward facing light. The law also requires your motorcycle to have a rear, red taillight, a stoplight and a white light to illuminate the license plate.
Your motorcycle seat must be secured properly, and handlebars must not be above your shoulders when seated properly.
To have a passenger on your motorcycle it must have separate footrests, a handstrap, and a securely fastened seat unless it has a sidecar that is designed to carry a passenger.
Every motorcycle must pass an annual safety inspection.
Information regarding MA motorcycle insurance requirements
The law requires liability insurance for all registered motorcycles. There are compulsory minimum limits for this insurance similar to automotive coverage, and additional coverage is available including collision and comprehensive insurance. Graduates of an MREP-approved motorcycle safety course are entitled to a 10% discount on parts 1 through 8 and 12 of their insurance.
Compulsory with limits of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident which is required by the state.
Personal injury protection, state requires $8000.
Liability coverage for underinsured automobilists, state require $20,000 per person $40,000 per accident.
Property damage, the statutory limit mandated by the state is $5000.
For more specific information concerning your motorcycle insurance, contact your insurance agent.