Snowplow Hitching Mechanisms

Registration

Removal of certain snowplow hitching mechanisms is required in Massachusetts during warm weather months. (May 15th-October 15th)

Massachusetts Law

Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90, Section 19K requires the removal of certain snow plows and hitching mechanisms. Non-complying vehicles may not be operated on public-ways.

Requirements

Between May 15 and October 15 of each year, vehicles equipped with a plow (unless exempt) shall be required to have the plow and hitching mechanism used with the plow to be removed. The hitching mechanism includes the lift cylinder and lift arm. (The lift cylinder is the hydraulic cylinder that raises and lowers the lift arm. The lift arm supports the plow blade).

Exempted Hitching Mechanisms

Vehicles equipped with an apparatus that allows the hitching mechanism to be folded flat leaving no protruding surfaces, shall only be required to have the plow itself removed if the hitching mechanism is in the folded flat position while the vehicle is in operation.

Hitching mechanisms which were permanently affixed through welding or other means prior to July 1, 2004 (the date of enactment) are exempt. Permanently affixing a hitching mechanism after that date is prohibited and a violation is subject to fine and revocation of registration.

If it Snows During the Period

If snowfall occurs before October 15 or after May 15, vehicles subject to this act may be re-equipped with the plow and any apparatus necessary for clearing snow but must abide by this law within 72 hours of the conclusion of the snowfall.

Exempted Vehicles

This act does not apply to any vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of more than 26,000 pounds nor to state, county or municipally owned or operated vehicles.

Purpose of the Law

The law was passed following numerous crashes resulting in serious injuries, fatalities and property damage to other vehicles when impacted by plows and hitching mechanisms during warm weather months when plows and mechanisms on many vehicles could easily have been removed.

Penalties

For operating a vehicle in violation of this act:

  • a warning for a first (1st) offense
  • $250 fine for a second (2nd) offense
  • $500 fine and revocation of the registration for a third (3rd) offense and the registration will not be reinstated until the vehicle is in compliance. A reinstatement fee will apply.

Questions

Contact Vehicle Safety & Compliance Services at 857-368-8130.





Gov Delivery MassDOT Twitter MassDOT Flicker MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Instagram MassDOT Blog MassDOT SocialMedia MassDOT Developer Resources
Translation Disabled |  Translation Support
Copyright © 2017 Commonwealth of Massachusetts