Suspensions & Hearings

Mail Reinstatement payments to:

Driver Control / Court Records
Registry of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 55896
Boston, MA 02205-5896

Three Speeding Tickets:

Getting three speeding tickets within a 12-month period (not a calendar year) results in a mandatory 30-day suspension under Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 20. This 12- month period is determined based on the most recent finding/conviction date.

Hardship License Eligibility: An operator with a suspension/revocation for three speeding tickets is NOT eligible for a hardship license

Three Surchargeable Events:

This suspension is triggered by accumulating any combination of three moving violations and/or surchargeable events within a 24- month period. This period is determined based on the most recent finding/conviction date. If another state reports an event, it will be included in the calculation. The driver may appear before a hearings officer but only the accuracy of the record in and of itself is disputable. A surchargeable event will not be counted if it is shown that it is presently under appeal, vacated or was deemed to have been entered in error.

You must complete a Driver Retraining Course within 90 days of the date of the notification you receive from the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) to avoid suspension of your license. If you do not, your license will be suspended until you complete the course and a $100 reinstatement fee will be imposed. You must complete the course each time you get a third surchargeable event within two years. It does not matter if you have already taken the course.

The RMV will mail you an Intent to Suspend Notice that allows a 90-day window to complete the course before an indefinite suspension goes into effect. Once you complete and pass the course, the National Safety Council (NSC) will electronically notify the RMV. If the course is taken before 90 days, the suspension will not go into effect. However, if the course is not completed within 90 days, the suspension will take effect and remain in effect indefinitely, or until the course is successfully completed. If your license is suspended and you wish to reinstate, you will need to pay a $100 reinstatement fee. Reinstatement fees can be paid at an RMV Full Service Center, over the phone with a major credit card, or through the mail by check to the address above.

The NSC may be contacted directly at 1-800-215-1581.

Hardship License Eligibility: An operator with a suspension/revocation for three surchargable events is NOT eligible for a hardship license

Five Surchargeable Events:

This suspension is triggered by accumulating any combination of 5 moving violations and/or surchargeable events within a three year period. This period is calculated back from the most recent finding/conviction date. If another state reports an event, it will be included in the calculation. This is a statutory suspension and can only be rescinded at a hearing if you have documented proof that the offense is not yours, a court disposition was entered incorrectly, you have received a suspension notice for a civil citation for which you had requested a court hearing, or you have been approved for a Board of Appeals hearing to challenge an at-fault accident.

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 175, Section 113B mandates that a driver suspended for five surchargeable events complete an in-person (not online) Driver Retraining Program through the NSC.

The RMV will mail you an Intent to Suspend Notice that allows a 90-day window to complete the course before an indefinite suspension goes into effect. Once you complete and pass the course, the NSC will electronically notify the RMV. If the course is taken before 90 days, the suspension will not go into effect. However, if the course is not completed within 90 days, the suspension will take effect and remain in effect indefinitely, or until the course is successfully completed. If the suspension does take effect, there will be a $100 reinstatement fee due. Reinstatement fees can be paid at a RMV Full Service Center, over the phone with a major credit card, or through the mail by check to the address above.

The NSC may be contacted directly at 1-800-215-1581.

Please Note: The Five Surchargeable Event violation only applies to violators whose latest finding/conviction date is prior to 9/30/2010 when the new Three Surchargeable Event law went into effect.

Hardship License Eligibility: An operator with a suspension/revocation for five surchargeable events is NOT eligible for a hardship license

Seven Surchargeable Events:

This suspension is triggered by accumulating any combination of seven moving violations and/or surchargeable events within a three year period. This period is calculated back from the most recent finding/conviction date. If another state reports an event, it will be included in the calculation.

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 175, Section 113B mandates a 60- day suspension. The RMV is required by law to send a notice of suspension to the address of record. Once the suspension period is finished, a $100 reinstatement fee is required before the license can be reinstated. Reinstatement fees can be paid at a RMV Full Service Center, over the phone with a major credit card, or through the mail by check to the address above.

Hardship License Eligibility: An operator with a suspension/revocation for seven surchargeable events is NOT eligible for a hardship license

Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO):

This suspension is triggered by accumulating a total of three major moving violations or any combination of 12 major or minor moving violations within a five year period. This period is calculated back from the most recent finding/conviction date. If another state reports an event, it will be included in the calculation. Surchargeable accidents are not part of HTO calculations.

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 22F mandates a four year license revocation. The RMV is required by law to send a notice of suspension to the address of record. Once the suspension period is finished, you will be required to take a full driver's license exam ($30 for the learner's permit exam, $35 for the road test) and pay a $500 reinstatement fee. Reinstatement fees can be paid at an RMV Full Service Center, over the phone with a major credit card, or through the mail by check to the address above.

However, most people pay the reinstatement fee and permit fee when they are ready to take the test at an RMV Service Full Center. A road test must be scheduled after the permit test is passed and a permit is issued. You can pay over the phone by calling 857-368-8000. If your HTO includes at least one OUI and you have a prior OUI on your record, Melanie's Law requires you to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in any vehicle you drive when you are reinstated or if you are granted a hardship license. Please refer to the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Program section.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Suspension actions taken on Three Surchargeable Events, Five Surchargeable Events (with a findings/conviction date prior to 9/30/10), Seven Surchargeable Events, and Habitual Traffic Offenders are independent of one another. An operator will be subject to the conditions of each suspension or revocation type independent of any other suspensions or revocations that have been served or are currently active. For example, if you receive a suspension for three speeding violations and one for Seven Surchargeable Events, you will serve 30 days for the speeding suspension and an additional 60 days for the Seven Surchargeable suspensions.

Information regarding points and surchargeable events can be found in the Surchargable Incidents section of the Merit Rating Board's website.

Hardship License Eligibility: An operator with a suspension/revocation for HTO is eligible to apply for a hardship license if he/she meets certain requirements. Please refer to the Hardship License section for more information.

Three No Transparent Window Tickets

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 9D, the RMV will suspend/revoke an operator's learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate for 90 days if the operator has accumulated a total of three convictions for not having transparent windows on his/her motor vehicle.

Hardship License Eligibility: An operator with a suspension/revocation for three no transparent window tickets is NOT eligible for a hardship license





Gov Delivery MassDOT Twitter MassDOT Flicker MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Instagram MassDOT Blog MassDOT SocialMedia MassDOT Developer Resources
Translation Disabled |  Translation Support
Copyright © 2017 Commonwealth of Massachusetts