Junior Operator Violations

A Junior Operator's License is subject to increased penalties for violation of certain laws and driver's license restrictions. If you accept responsibility for, or are found responsible after a court hearing for, any of the stated restrictions or violations issued prior to your 18th birthday, the Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend/revoke your Junior Operator's License. A letter will be sent to your parent or guardian to notify them of the suspension/revocation action. If you would like to reinstate your Junior Operator's License, you will need to serve the suspension period and fulfill any other reinstatement requirements.

Convictions, Suspension Periods, and Reinstatement Requirements

Suspension periods and reinstatement requirements vary by the type of violation and number of convictions you incur while holding a Junior Operator's License. The following tables list the suspension periods and reinstatement requirements for Junior Operator's License holders. Any suspension/revocation that occurs during the six-month passenger restriction period will extend the length of the six-month passenger restriction period. A junior operator under the age of 18 convicted of a passenger restriction violation must serve this suspension/revocation even if you have since turned 18 years of age.

Passenger Restriction

Governing Law: Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 8 & 10

1st Offense 2nd Offense Subsequent Offense
60 day suspension - $100 reinstatement fee 180 day suspension - $100 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course 1 year suspension - $100 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course - Full Exam**

Time Restriction Violation - 12:30am-5am

Governing Law: Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 8 & 10

1st Offense 2nd Offense Subsequent Offense
60 day suspension - $100 reinstatement fee 180 day suspension - $100 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course 1 year suspension - $100 reinstatement fee -  Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course - Full Exam**

Speeding

Governing Law: Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 17, 17A & 18

1st Offense 2nd Offense Subsequent Offense
90 day suspension - $500 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course & SCARR* - Full Exam** 1 year suspension - $500 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course & SCARR* - Full Exam** 1 year suspension - $500 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course & SCARR* - Full Exam**

Drag-Racing

Governing Law: Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 17B

1st Offense 2nd Offense Subsequent Offense
1 year suspension - $500 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course & SCARR* - Full Exam** 3 year suspension - $500 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course & SCARR* - Full Exam** 3 year suspension - $500 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course & SCARR* - Full Exam**

Operating to Endanger/Recklessly or Negligent

Governing Law: Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 24

1st Offense 2nd Offense Subsequent Offense
180 day suspension - $500 Reinstatement fee
1 year suspension - $500 Reinstatement fee - Full exam** 1 year suspension - $500 Reinstatement fee - Full exam**

Conviction for the use of a mobile electronic device (text or phone)

Governing Law: Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 8M

1st Offense 2nd Offense Subsequent Offense
60 day suspension - $100 reinstatement fee - Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course - Full Exam** 180 day suspension - $100 Reinstatement fee 1 year suspension - $100 Reinstatement fee

Negligent operation and injury from mobile phone use

Governing Law: Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 24(2)(a)

1st Offense 2nd Offense Subsequent Offense
180 day suspension - $500 Reinstatement fee
1 year suspension - $500 Reinstatement fee - Full Exam** 1 year suspension - $500 Reinstatement fee - Full Exam**

Additional Suspension for Junior Operators Under the Age of 18

In addition to any other penalty required by the Massachusetts General Laws specific to each violation, Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 24P(b) requires that any junior operator under the age of 18 convicted of the following violations must receive a 180-day suspension (in addition to any other suspension required by law) for a first offense, and a one-year suspension for any subsequent offense:

  • Operating to Endanger
  • Reckless/Negligent Operation
  • Leaving the Scene of an Accident
  • Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle
  • Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle

This additional suspension only applies to a junior operator in cases in which you did not already receive an additional suspension for failing or refusing a breath test.

* Junior operators are only required to complete the SCARR course one time.

** If you are required to take a Full Exam, you will need to take both the learner's permit test and a road test.

Appealing a Suspension

Anyone who disagrees with a decision of the Registrar may appeal that decision to the Board of Appeals on Motor Vehicle Liability Policies and Bonds.





Gov Delivery MassDOT Twitter MassDOT Flicker MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Instagram MassDOT Blog MassDOT SocialMedia MassDOT Developer Resources
Translation Disabled |  Translation Support
Copyright © 2017 Commonwealth of Massachusetts