Reinstating Your License

Suspensions & Hearings

The Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) can authorize the reinstatement of a suspension/revocation action. The requirements to reinstate your license or right to operate vary by suspension type. For more information on these requirements, please refer to the Suspension section.

Class D, M or DM License

If your suspension or revocation is related to Vehicular Homicide or Manslaughter, Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (OUI), or a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) offense that includes an OUI, you must see an RMV Hearings Office to reinstate. Please refer to the Hearing Sites and Schedules section for more information. For most other offenses you may visit any RMV Service Center.

Commercial Drivers License

When a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) holder is disqualified for a CDL violation, the disqualification is issued against his/her CDL. You may be eligible to downgrade to a Class D license. Please refer to the Commercial Drivers License Suspensions section for more information.

Please Note: Reinstatement Fees are determined by Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 90, Section 33. Reinstatement fees range from $50.00 - $1,200, depending upon the offense. In addition, some offenses may have additional requirements, such as a learner's permit exam and road test must be taken and passed, a class must be taken, a medical agreement may be required, etc.

Check the status of your License or Permit

You may check the status of your learner's permit or driver's license/right to operate online using the License/Permit Inquiry.

Gov Delivery MassDOT Twitter MassDOT Flicker MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Instagram MassDOT Blog MassDOT SocialMedia MassDOT Developer Resources
Translation Disabled |  Translation Support
Copyright © 2017 Commonwealth of Massachusetts