Underage Operators

Violations and Suspension Periods

The following table lists the suspension periods for the more common underage alcohol violations.

Violation Penalty Governing Law
Individual under age 21 purchasing or attempting to purchase liquor 90 day suspension Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 138 Section 34A
Individual under age 21 possessing alcohol 90 day suspension Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 138 Section 34C
Individual under age 21 transporting or carrying alcohol unaccompanied by a parent or legal guardian* 90 day suspension Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 138 Section 34C
Procuring alcohol for an individual under age 21 180 day suspension Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 138 Section 34A

* Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 138 Section 34C does provide that individuals between the ages of 18-21 may transport alcohol in the course of employment. While distinctions and exemptions exist, the proper forum for vetting them is through the District or Juvenile Court. A Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) Hearings Officer cannot change a determination made by a court. If you dispute the “correctness” of a court's finding, it must be addressed with the court, and, if successful, a corrected abstract must be sent to and entered by the Merit Rating Board before the RMV can take any action.

Hardship License Eligibility

When convicted of an Underage Alcohol Violation that is listed in the above table, you are not eligible to apply for a hardship license. These suspensions are mandated by law.

Appealing a Suspension

Anyone aggrieved by a decision of the Registrar may appeal that decision to the Board of Appeals on Motor Vehicle Liability Policies and Bonds.





Gov Delivery MassDOT Twitter MassDOT Flicker MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Instagram MassDOT Blog MassDOT SocialMedia MassDOT Developer Resources
Translation Disabled |  Translation Support
Copyright © 2017 Commonwealth of Massachusetts