Registering Vehicles Acquired from Family or Friends

Please refer to this section if you are registering a vehicle acquired from a family member or given to you as a gift. You may apply for new plates or you may transfer your existing registration to the new vehicle if the vehicles are of the same type.

Fees
Please note that registration fees vary by plate type. To transfer a plate from one vehicle to another of the same type, the fee is $25.00. See the Fee Chart for a list of RMV plate types and fees. A $75.00 title fee will also be collected.

Vehicles Transferred from Family Members

You are exempt from paying sales tax on a vehicle transferred from any of the following family members: father, mother, brother, sister, husband, wife, son, daughter. The exemption does not apply if transferred from a grandparent, cousin, uncle or aunt.

The vehicle involved in the transfer may either be purchased by you or given to you as a gift from the family member.

To Process the Family Transfer and Register the Vehicle:

  1. Fill out a Sales Tax Exemption form (MVU-26).

    This form is available at any full service RMV branch office or licensed Massachusetts insurance agency.

  2. You then must go to a licensed Massachusetts insurance agent to obtain an active insurance policy and have the agent complete, stamp and sign an Application for Registration and Title (RMV-1).

    If there is a lien against the vehicle, please make sure the lienholder information is complete and accurate.

  3. After verifying all information, sign the RMV-1 application.

    Along with the completed RMV-1 application, you must submit the following documents:

    • The previous owner's title, if a titled vehicle (model year 1980 and newer), or
    • The bill of sale, if a non-titled vehicle, and
    • The completed Sales Tax Exemption form (MVU-26).

    If presenting the previous owner's title, be sure the date sold, the odometer reading and the purchase price (GIFT if the vehicle was given to you), have been completed on the back. The previous owner(s) and you must sign the back of the title.

  4. Take the completed RMV-1 application and MVU-26 form and supporting documents to the nearest full service RMV branch office.

After completing the transaction, you will receive a registration certificate, new plates and a year of expiration decal for the rear plate or a registration certificate with the new vehicle information. The title will be processed and mailed in approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks. If you have a loan on the vehicle, the title will be mailed directly to your lienholder.

You must obtain a vehicle inspection sticker within seven (7) days of the registration date.

Vehicles Transferred as a Gift

You may be exempt from paying sales tax on a vehicle transferred to you as a gift from another person. The person transferring the vehicle must have satisfied the tax laws of the state where the vehicle was registered and/or titled. In addition to the title and registration fees, a $25 fee will be collected at the time the vehicle is titled/registered.

To Process this Transaction and Register your Vehicle:

  1. Fill out a Sales Tax Exemption form (MVU-24).

    This form is available at any full service RMV branch office or licensed Massachusetts insurance agency.

  2. You then must go to a licensed Massachusetts insurance agent to obtain an active insurance policy and have the agent complete, stamp and sign an Application for Registration and Title (RMV-1).

  3. After verifying all information, sign the RMV-1 application.

    Along with the completed RMV-1 application, you must submit the following documents:

    • The previous owner's title, if a titled vehicle (model year 1980 and newer), or
    • The bill of sale, if a non-titled vehicle, and
    • The completed Sales Tax Exemption form (MVU-24).

    If presenting the previous owner's title, be sure the date sold, the odometer reading and the purchase price (GIFT if the vehicle was given to you), have been completed on the back. The previous owner(s) and you must sign the back of the title.

  4. Take the completed RMV-1 application and MVU-24 form and supporting documents to the nearest full service RMV branch office.

After completing the transaction, you will receive a registration certificate, new plates and a year of expiration decal for the rear plate or a registration certificate with the new vehicle information. The title will be processed and mailed in approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks.

You must obtain a vehicle inspection sticker within seven (7) days of the registration date.


Printer icon, opens print window Print This Page


Registration Content

Translation Disabled  | Translation Support
Massachusetts Department of Transportation

MassDOT Twitter massrmv MassDOT Facebook MassDOT Youtube MassDOT Blog MassDOT Site Policies MassDOT Developer Resources